top of page

Life


Life as a choreographer. Spending my weekends working with talented teenagers instead of going to social events, the park, day trips, etc. The STRUGGLE... I have always opted for "the work" rather than my own social life. This is not because I am a teacher and that is just the way the schedule works with my students. This is a passion. I have always chosen this particular path, since I was a teenager in my many many dance classes at multiple studios. Missing home comings, prom, spring break trips, etc. It has provided amazing opportunities and rewards and I dont look back and regret any of my choices. This year (30) I took a bit of a turn, and being in a relationship has made me realize how much time I spend with my students and that I needed to balance my live work life just a little more. I have made an effort to give myself 1-2 days off a week (sometimes not sucessfully) or at least a few hours to myself. But as I sit here and write this post I am in a studio yet again working with talented dancers on a rainy Saturday. And not at all mad about it.

Considering the balance of live/work, I find more and more that my work IS my life and these relationships I have built, the studio owners and their/my students have become my families. I have a sense of responsibility to them along with trust and I am fufilled so much as I work through process with the students and see their growth. I celebrate their victories and mourn their losses inside and outside the studio.

My mind is constantly working and sharing information not only with the dancers but also other professionals that I come into contat with. I think the tools and ideas that I have come to develop over the years have really aided in the sucess of each of my students. Be it singing their song while dancing, or writing out their entire choreography verbally. Each of the ideas have always been a work in progress and some I have kept as tried adn true ways to develop young artists and some I have abandoned as being unproductive or hard to maintain. I want this blog to be all of those ideas ejected from my madness and catalogged. Lets see how this goes... Merde...

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page